New flags for inclusiveness of our nation

We recently aquired a three-flagpole stand and are now able to fly the three Australian flags. We will house the flags in the reception area and will be flown during Assembly, ANZAC Day and Remembrance Day ceremonies.

Flying the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander flags demonstrates Australia's recognition of First Nation peoples, promoting a sense of community partnership and a commitment toward reconciliation.

Australia has three official flags: the Australian National Flag, the Australian Aboriginal Flag and the Torres Strait Islander Flag.

The Australian National Flag

The Australian National Flag is blue, white and red. It has three important parts:

  • The flag of Great Britain, known as the Union Jack, is in the top left corner. The flag represents our history of British settlement.
  • The Commonwealth Star is under the Union Jack. This star has seven points, one point for each of the six states and one for the territories.
  • The Southern Cross, on the right, is a group of stars we see in the southern sky.

The Australian Aboriginal Flag

The Australian Aboriginal Flag is black, red and yellow. It has three important parts, and the most common interpretation of the colours is:

  • The top half is black and represents the Aboriginal people of Australia.
  • The bottom half is red and represents the earth and a spiritual relation to the land.
  • The yellow circle represents the sun.

The Torres Strait Islander Flag

The Torres Strait Islander Flag is green, blue, black and white.

  • The green stripes represent the land.
  • The blue panel in the centre represents the sea.
  • The black lines represent the Torres Strait Islander people.
  • The white dancer’s headdress in the centre is a symbol for all Torres Strait Islanders.
  • The points of the white star represent the island groups in the Torres Strait.
  • The colour white is a symbol of peace.